Grant Funding

Active Grants

Completed Grants

Improving Systems of Care for the Older Person (I-SCOPE)

Dunhill Medical Trust grant, R462/0216, £132796, 2016, 24 months

In seeking to improve the oral health and quality of life of older people living in Scottish care homes, it is important to recognise how oral health fits into a wider system of care, and the many challenges facing care homes in providing safe, high quality care for older people to improve health and wellbeing. The I-SCOPE project thus examines the care home system holistically, taking a Human Factors approach recommended by key bodies in healthcare. Many important elements influence quality care provision, including: staff recruitment and training; protocols and regulation; the physical environment and resources; and organisational culture and leadership. The vital benefit of this project is that it will identify how all these aspects best fit together, and discover what trade-offs and priority decisions staff make when under pressure. We will make recommendations about how systems can function more smoothly, teams can communicate more effectively and competing demands can be met within existing resources. This will be very useful for the TORCH oral health project and a whole range of safety and quality improvement efforts. 

Research Team

Dr Al Ross – University of Glasgow
Dr Janet Anderson – King’s College London
Dr Debbie Bonetti – University of Dundee
Dr Paul Bowie – NHS Education for Scotland
Heather Edwards – Care Inspectorate
Dr Evridiki Fioratou – University of Dundee
Prof Ruth Freeman – University of Dundee
Prof Lorna Macpherson – University of Glasgow
Dr Andrea Sherriff – University of Glasgow
Dr Linda Young – NHS Education for Scotland

‘Transforming Research into Better Oral Health for Scotland’

SFC Grant HR10026/228017689. ‘Transforming Research into Better Oral Health for Scotland’, £132,000 from May 2012 for 3 years

Funds the salary costs of the Oral Health Collaborative Research Administrator

'HPV Oral Prevalence in Scotland (HOPSCOTCH) Feasibility Study’

CSO Grant CZH/4/917. HPV Oral Prevalence in Scotland (HOPSCOTCH) Feasibility Study’ £202,415 from June 2013 for 20 months

Explores the feasibility of using clinical dental facilities to recruit healthy volunteers into a prevalence study of oral human papilloma virus (HPV) infection.

Research Team

Dr David Conway (PI) – University of Glasgow
Prof Jeremy Bagg – University of Glasgow
Dr Christine Campbell – University of Edinburgh
Prof Jan Clarkson – University of Dundee
Heather Cubie – MRC Unit for Reproductive Health
Dr Kate Cuschieri – Scottish HPV Reference Laboratory
Dr Fergus Daly – Frontier Science Scotland
Dr Sharon Kean – Robertson Centre for Biostatistics
Dr Lisa McDaid – MRC/CSO Social and Public Health Sciences Unit
Dr Kevin Pollock – Health Protection Scotland
Jamie Rae – Throat Cancer Foundation
Prof Chris Robertson – University of Strathclyde
Dr Andrew Winter – Sandyford Sexual Health Services
Dr Linda Young – NHS Education Scotland

Grant Applications Submitted

Partial Removal of Dentinal Caries in Permanent Teeth

Application submitted to HTA, NIHR, 2018, £2,193,543. (currently under negotiation)

Tooth decay costs around £1.3 billion in England with over 7 million fillings placed in permanent teeth during 2016. The same situation is seen in Scotland. The project will operate a cluster randomised control trial in dental practice settings across Scotland and the UK. It will compare traditional treatment involving the complete removal of decay before placing a filling against selective caries removal where some decay is left in the tooth to establish clinical and cost effectiveness as well as the preferences of patients and dentists.

Research Team

Prof Janet Clarkson – University of Dundee
Prof Craig Ramsay – University of Aberdeen
Prof Avijit Banerjee – King’s College London
Prof David Ricketts – University of Dundee
Prof Chris Deery – University of Sheffield
Dr Zoe Marshman, University of Sheffield
Prof David Conway – University of Glasgow
Mr Thomas Lamont – University of Dundee
Dr Bhupinder Dawett –  University of Sheffield
Dr Linda Young, NHS Education for Scotland
Prof Graeme MacLennan – University of Aberdeen
Mr Dwayne Boyers – University of Aberdeen
Prof Marjon van der Pol, University of Aberdeen
Dr Andrea Sherriff – University of Glasgow
Ms Tina Halford Maguff – University of Aberdeen